Early Years and Foundation Stage


Click on the links below to view the Early Years and Foundation Stage documents:
Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum
FS1 Curriculum Overview
FS2 Induction Pack
FS2 Curriculum Overview
FS2 End of Year Expectations

The quality of education in Early Years Foundation Stage is a strength of High Crags Academy, with children able to join our new 2 Year Old Unit, continue into our nursery and then Reception class. The 2 Year Old Unit and nursery are situated in a new purpose built unit. There are currently both morning and afternoon sessions in the nursery, with the option to choose the session that best suits you and your child.

The two Reception classes have an extensive outdoor area and share joint provision, for a creative, child-led curriculum.

For full details of the curriculum in both nursery and Reception then please contact the school and speak to Mrs. Rogers, the nursery leader, or Mrs. Connors, the Reception leader.

The Early Years Foundation Stage includes Foundation Stage 1 (FS1 or Nursery) and Foundation Stage 2 (FS2 or Reception).

Foundation Stage Curriculum

The Foundation Stage makes a crucial contribution to children’s early development. As a school we are very proud of our purpose built Early Years units that include excellent, innovative and motivating learning environments. This whole stage is about developing key learning skills such as speaking and listening, concentration, co-operation, persistence and team work and we provide the children with a rich variety of learning and teaching experiences that are appropriate to their needs and underpin all of their future learning. Through planned, purposeful play, children are able to discover, practise and refine their skills in literacy and mathematics as well as find out about themselves and their environment. Our provision ensures a broad and balanced coverage of the curriculum based on the Statutory Framework for the Early Years and responds to the needs and interests of all our children. In this framework there are seven areas of learning and development that are equally important and inter-connected. They are divided into prime and specific areas of learning:

The prime areas are:

  • Personal, social and emotional development (making relationships; self-confidence and self-awareness; managing feelings and behaviour)
  • Communication and language (listening and attention; understanding; speaking)
  • Physical development (moving and handling; health and self-care)

The specific areas are:

  • Literacy (reading; writing)
  • Mathematics (numbers; shape, space and measures)
  • Understanding the world (people and communities; the world; technology)
  • Expressive arts and design (exploring and using media and materials, being imaginative)



Your child will read on a daily basis in class either as part of a guided reading session, on an individual basis with an adult, during their phonic activities or when taking part in paired reading. At the end of the day each class will also take time to enjoy a carefully chosen story and these might be related to the termly theme and will be read aloud to the class by the teacher.

When reading on an individual basis the children select books from our whole school scheme which includes Oxford reading tree books and is supplemented by several other schemes.


To support the development of your child’s reading skills they will also take part in daily phonic activities. As a school we follow the “Letters and Sounds” programme which is a six-phase teaching programme designed to help teach children how the alphabet works for reading and spelling. It aims to build children's speaking and listening skills in their own right as well as to prepare children for learning to read by developing their phonic knowledge and skills.

If you require any further information about reading or phonics please talk to your child’s teacher.